Visiting Muir Woods was all about checking off a major bucket list item of mine.

This bucket list item was probably one of my weirder ones…
It was to lay on my back surrounded by redwoods and take a picture looking up. Yeah, kinda weird. I felt so good accomplishing it though!

20150529_130055.jpg
The bucket list photo : )

You must be thinking, “what a strange girl, to be so worked up about a bunch of giant trees.” I’ll admit, I can be a bit odd, but I’ve been fascinated with redwoods and Muir Woods since I was little.

Maybe it was watching Jurassic Park: Lost World when I was 7 years old…
Maybe it was learning about the super-top-secret-we’d-have-to-kill-you-if-we-told-you Bohemian Club based out of San Francisco that meets at Bohemian Grove….
Maybe, it’s the general lack of trees in my life as a Texas resident…

While, there are a ton of trees to look at, there’s much more to experience at Muir Woods. Some helpful tips:

  • Parking is a beast. There just aren’t enough proper parking spaces for all the visitors. If you can’t do 1 mile or longer walk uphill just to reach the entrance, have your driver drop you and leave him him to trudge his way up to the beginning of the park.
  • Take water. Even though the weather is amazing in Northern California, the air in the groves is very close.
  • Bring your walking shoes for the various walking loops and longer trails.

I was super impressed by the size of the trees. Somehow, National Geographic magazines didn’t prepare me to feel so insignificant. We learned the largest trees at Muir Woods are just shy of 300 feet tall. Y’all, for perspective, that’s just a wee bit shorter than the length of TWO Olympic sized swimming pools combined. #michaelphelpstrees
These same trees are thought to be between 600 – 800 years old. That’s a lot of tree rings.

20150529_133305.jpg
Extensive root system!

I was surprised to learn that their roots are quite shallow though – only 6 feet deep – but they cover a very large spread of land – 100 feet or so. This still blows my mind, that something so large is held up by 6 feet deep roots!

Muir Woods has a lot more than just trees though. We drove through beautiful valleys to and from the park. Inside the park, covering much of the ground in between the trees are these beautiful little fields of Redwood Sorrel. Did you know that Redwood Sorrel folds its leaves down in direct sunlight? We watched it multiple times throughout our time at the park! There are lots of ferns and mushrooms, too.

20150529_131204.jpg
Literally, fields of Redwood Sorrel.

Remember those valleys I mentioned?

20150529_14161620150529_141219

Top: Hillside view overlooking, I think, the Sausalito area.
Bottom: Just outside Muir Woods. I could live there *sigh*.

After all the hiking, we drove down to Sausalito to enjoy some delicious seafood on the bay. If you ever get the chance, check out Salito’s Crab House and Prime Rib. They have indoor and outdoor seating. We chose to sit outdoors right over the bay with a beautiful view for dinner. I regret to say that we were so ravenously hungry that we didn’t take a single photo of our food. However, trust me when I say that their bread – brought out freshly baked in miniature cast-iron pots – is more than worth a stop. #carbheaven

-N

